RSS News Feed
RSS News Feed
See Maps
  > Quick Links
  > Airport Information
  > Airport Facilities
  > Shopping & Duty Free
  > Before You Leave
  > Getting To The Airport
  > City Directions
  > Local Directory
 
 

There are many different ways in which you can flights from East Midlands Airport. Here we give you an overview on the varying options for Nottingham East Midlands Airport flights and bookings.

Nottingham East Midlands Airport Flights & Bookings ...

In 1997 the EU reduced restrictions on flight competition and thus saw the start of the budget airline boom.

By simple shopping around you can make sure you secure the best possible price for your flight from East Midlands Airport.

So whether you want to book online or via a travel agent, here we give details on East Midlands Airport booking flights.

 

Starter Advice ...

 
When you first think about booking your flight from East Midlands Airport make sure you are armed with as much unofficial information about your trip as possible. This will help you get the best, and most accurate deal around.
It's also worth having a quick look at the Terminal Information pages of this website so you can find out which airlines fly from East Midlands Airport.
 
 

About Booking A Flight ..

   
 
General Help
   
 
As the World's airlines make hundreds of changes to their flight ticket prices each day it's worth doing as much research as you can. Check the travel sections in the papers, log on to travel websites look at teletext for special offers on flights.
 
 
Try to get as many quotes as possible so you know you are getting a good deal, but equally don't be afraid to book a great deal straight away. You don't want to risk losing the deal by waiting a day or so.

Another way to get a good deal is to be as flexible on your journey as you can. For example, do you have to fly on a particular day - certain days of the week are cheaper. As are certain times and also certain airports.
 
If you're going to call travel agents call them first thing in the morning. This way they will be less buy with shop customers and can concentrate on finding you a good deal. The same applies if you are calling airlines direct too.
 
Nested Tickets
 
If you fly several times a year to the same destination then think about buying what's known as nested tickets.

These nested tickets work when a regular midweek fare is more than twice the price of an excursion fare (includes a Saturday stopover) to the same destination.

So say you've been quoted £150 for a flight from East Midlands Airport to Belfast return, travelling out on a Monday and returning on the Friday of the same week but you can find a return that requires you to stay for a weekend and is priced £75 or less, it is worth buying a nested ticket.

Buy a £75 excursion return ticket departing on the Monday and coming back late in the next week. Then buy another £75 excursion return ticket with the outgoing flight from Belfast on the Friday of your return to East Midlands Airport. The return journey of this second ticket should be dated early in the next week.

By buying nested tickets you basically get two return flights for the price of one! If you 'nest' the tickets for future travel you can make use of all the tickets and save money. It can be confusing but if you do the research then you are bound to get a cheaper deal.
 
Split Tickets
 
Or consider buying what's known as split tickets. This is where you break up your journey buy changing at an interim airport instead of flying direct to your destination.

Ask your travel agent for help when booking split tickets.
 
Low Cost Airlines
 
If you want to use low cost airlines then you need to book on the internet and as early as you possibly can to secure their best prices.

When using low cost airlines you must also remember that the flights advertised are for one way only. You also need to add airport taxes. But even so, the flights are mostly much cheaper that you'd find with conventional airlines.
 
 
   

Increase Legroom & Avoid Delays ...

   
 
Try following these hints and tips - whilst you can't guarantee you'll avoid a delay you can do your best to avoid them.
 
  • You can pre-book seats, for a fee, with most tour operators who run their own airline like www.thomson.co.uk

  • See if you can see what type of plane you'll be travelling on, look up a seat plan online and book your preferred seats

  • Flights that fly direct or first thing in the morning are less likely to be delayed
 
   

Upgrades ...

   
 
Upgrades are rare so your best bet to get an upgrade is if you are ask to be 'bumped' onto another flight. This is when the airline has too many passengers for the seats on the plane and needs some to travel on the next flight.

If you are asked then think about agreeing if you will get a free upgrade.,

As a rule bumped passengers who are delayed for more than several hours are likely to get travel vouchers.

If the delay is less passengers are normally offered a phone card, food vouchers and a temporary pass into the executive lounge.
   
 
   

Travel Agent Bookings ...

   
 
Remember when booking through a travel agent for your flight from East Midlands Airport, to push for a good deal as the travel agent, once they've secured your business will be paid a commission by the airline.

When getting quotes from a travel agent make sure they give exact details on the flights, hotels etc. not vague details that could change when you go back to book. And also check for any small print in their terms that could make the deal less attractive.
 
Getting A Deal Through Travel Agents
  • Do you work for a large company? Are you are a member of a union? If so ask them if they get any discounts for flights and travel that you can take advantage of.
  • By booking direct with hotels and airlines for luxury holidays you can save yourself a lot of money. Plus you can also book transfers from the airport to your accommodation so you don't have to worry about being stranded at the airport.
  • What about being an airline courier? By carrying an item in your baggage for a reputable business can save you money on your flight.
  • City breaks in Europe are the easiest to arrange directly - with low cost airlines flying to most European destinations and huge amounts of choice for accommodation you'll be sure of a great deal.
 
   

Online Bookings ...

   
 
Check out Expedia for unofficial information about the airlines who fly from East Midlands Airport to your chosen destination. You'll also find details of when they fly and for how much.

When making an online booking always check your flight is covered by Atol (Air Travel Organisers' Licensing) and make sure the website's server is secure, if it is a padlock symbol on your browser will be displayed.

Online bookings are confirmed by email.

Whilst you're online check out Priceline.co.uk. This site lets you bid for various flights, often at 20-30% cheaper. However, check any small print or limiting terms and conditions.

Sigh up to online email mailing lists like www.ukfrenzy.co.uk. Here you'll be made aware of the very latest in offers and discounts so you can get a good deal.

And don't forget about travel newsgroups, where members share any offers they've found. Go to groups.google.com and start by searching for "rec.travel" or "rec.travel.air".
   
 
   

Links To Travel Agents & Fare Searchers ...

   
 
Here are links to travel agents and fare searchers to help you get a good deal on your flight from East Midlands Airport.
   
 
Travel Agent Website
Air Net www.airnet.co.uk
Bargain Holidays www.bargainholidays.com
Cheap Flights www.cheapflights.com
Deck Chair www.deckchair.com
E Bookers www.ebookers.com
Expedia www.expedia.co.uk
Fly Now www.flynow.com
Last Minute www.lastminute.com
Major Travel www.majortravel.co.uk
Opodo www.opodo.co.uk
Sky Deals www.skydeals.co.uk
STA www.statravel.co.uk
Teletext www.teletextholidays.co.uk
The First Resort www.thefirstresort.com
Thomas Cook www.thomascook.com
Trail Finders www.trailfinders.co.uk
 
 
 

Flights From East Midlands Airport - Links ...

   
 
Here are links to airlines for your flight from East Midlands Airport.
 
Airline Website
Aer Lingus www.aerlingus.ie
Virgin www.virginatlantic.com
Ryan Air www.ryanair.ie
British Airways www.ba.com
Air France www.airfrance.com
Air India www.airindia.com
Air Jamaica www.airjamaica.com
Air New Zealand www.airnewzealand.co.uk
Alitalia www.alitalia.co.uk
American Airlines www.americanairlines.com
BMI www.bmibaby.co.uk
Buzz Away www.buzzaway.com
Cathay Pacific www.cathaypacific.com
Continental www.continental.com
Delta www.delta.com
Easy Jet www.easyjet.com
Elal www.elal.com
Emirates www.emirates.com
Iberia www.iberia.com
Iceland Air www.icelandair.co.uk
Kenya Airways www.kenya-airways.com
Malaysia Airlines www.malaysiaairlines.com.my
Monarch www.monarch-airlines.com
Qantas www.qantas.com.au
Scandinavian www.scandinavian.net
Singapore Air www.singaporeair.com
Turkish Airlines www.turkishairlines.com
United Airlines www.unitedairlines.com
   
 
   
   
   
   
   
> How can we help?
> Airport Information
 
 
 
 
.................................................................................................................................................
Copyright © Helpme Ltd.